Funny name. Funnier food.

This post comes from a brunch experience a couple of months ago. Yes, I’m woefully behind on my bloggery. If only I could make this my day job. Eating, drinking and writing. Just had a tiny O thinking about it.

Anyway, I love brunch. The hubster hates it, which is why it works out perfectly. Brunch ends up being a wonderful time to catch up with a girlfriend or two. Even better when mimosas or bellinis are involved, but that’s just a nice-to-have.

On a warm August morning, Robin and I ventured out for brunch and decided to hit up Sfuzzi in Uptown. I realize that I’m late to this party – as Sfuzzi has been open for quite some time and is better known for being a weekend hot spot than a brunch destination. I mean, it made an appearance in an episode of Most Eligible Dallas. It is clearly past its prime.

On this particular day, we were one of probably 8 tables of people in the place – not super busy. Then again, we may have been there too early, as most of the party animals likely hadn’t risen yet. This nuance is only important in noting that it took multiple tries and nearly the entire brunch to get Robin an acceptable cup of coffee. The story isn’t really worth telling – but I’ll just say that I hope the service is better than what we experienced. Our waitress was well meaning, and fortunately we weren’t in a hurry. But still, if you’ve read this blog before, you know I’m a stickler for service.

Really – the whole point of this particular post is the photo. Ordered frittatas – in this case, featuring goat cheese, spinach, marinara and meatballs. I generally think of a frittata as a delicious, savory egg pie – meaning the ingredients are all chopped up and are IN the eggs. As the evidence shows, Sfuzzi’s version of a fritatta doesn’t quite match what I generally picture in my head.

Yep. Meaty balls.

 The balls were delicious. And that’s where this post ends.

Leave a comment

Filed under Eating

Leave a Reply

